A life lesson

Yesterday, the students of one of my classes were all absent apart from one, a lovely girl whose English is absolutely stunning! She’s very studious and loves languages in general, but is in love with English. We had a girlie chat as well as a class yesterday and she was telling me about things she finds difficult at school and in life in general. Her attitude was a bit negative, so I put on my mother/psychologist/coach’s hat and tried to make her see good things where she was seeing only bad ones. I’m still not sure I’ve succeeded, she’s as stubborn as a mule! It will take ages for her to change, but she will, hopefully.

I think today’s picture is a bit like what I told her yesterday. This is possibly one of the ugliest places in my town. Look at it! There are graffiti on the walls, rubbish on the ground, when it rains, it floods, the smell is, at times, unbearable. Still, this morning, the reflection of that lovely tree in the giant puddle was absolutely amazing!

P.S. I must remember to do this more often.... I mean, concentrate on the good things! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.