One daze at a time...

By Raheny_Eye

The pipes the pipes are calling

For some rather inexplicable reason, I love this toilet evacuation pipe at eye level at the back of IADT.
I also happen to love my kids (and most of the time, it is less inexplicable). 
So it was only a matter of time before I'd manage to combine the two together. 

Talking about toilet evacuation pipes, I had a most amusing semi-confrontational conversation today. 
I had a lovely, vivifying swim at the Vico (LadyF and Kaybee will have to take my word for it). 
I was then drying out in the sun (sheltered from the early April wind it has to be said) in my swimming togs, when this character in his mid-thirties came and stood about a meter from me, oozing negativity (the angles of his upturned nose and downturned mouth were sure indicators). 
The short conversation went like that: 
Quilted Barbour Jacket Grump (without preamble): 
I wouldn't do it, I hear that there are sewage problems 
Wet and happy Raheny Eye:
Sewage problems? 
QBJG
yes, sewage problems here
W&HRE: 
there is no sewage problem... there is no sewage, full stop. Look at the big houses down there. The waste waters go straight into the sea, untreated 
QBJG: 

W&HRE:
but look it, the level of dilution is such that there is no risk of elevated concentration of e-coli 
QBJG:

W&HRE:
see down there on the other hand, the Shankill waste water treatment plant? At time of heavy rains, it has happened that it overflows, and then indeed the water analysis results as far as Killiney beach can be pretty poor. But the Vico swimming place is further away, and again the level of dilution is such that there are no significant risks. Less than in a swimming pool anyway. I swim in the pool once a week and I am a lot more confident about the quality of the water here. 
QBJG:
Still, I wouldn't swim here
W&HRE:
Absolutely. I wouldn't expect you to. I have a deeply rooted belief in individual freedom. If you don't feel like doing something, you are dead right, don't do it! 
QBJG:

W&HRE:
For me, I love it. And anyway, this is Dalkey Hill. It is all premium poo. All organic kale, langoustines tempura and healthy quinoa salads

Exit QBJG stage left, having realised that not only would he not manage to wreck my buzz but that on top of it I was now openly taking the piss. Or the posh poo. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.