atoll

By atoll

Venus Rising

It's not every Christmas that you get a bona fide piece of art to hang from your Christmas tree. The little gem top right though is called Venus Rising, and it was gifted to us as a combined Christmas Card by Nottingham artist Wolfgang Buttress.

I worked with Wolf most recently when I helped him develop his installation of sculptural lighting columns around the 'mirrorpool' at Bradford City Park. I have featured this on Blip before here.

I knew that Wolf had been commissioned to create a sculpture for Brisbane as part of their excellent public art programme (why can't I get a gig like that?), but I didn't know that that work had been his original Venus Rising.

Postscript: His first Venus Rising was installed at Kangaroo Point Park in January 2012. The sculpture is a slender torpedo-shaped tower based on a Fibonacci spiral. Illuminated from the base, it is now a visible icon on the Brisbane skyline. It was first chosen via an Arts Queensland public art ballot in 2010. See video footage of it being installed here:

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.