The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Muddy knees

I was tempted to blip another bird in flight today, but cuteness won out. How old is this little lady? I'd need my nephew's expert opinion, but perhaps no more than a couple of days. She's all ears and limbs, the latter like a four-legged tripod for stability as she wobbles about. Full of curiosity as can be seen, enough to venture a couple of yards from her Mum to look at me, then another lamb, and get a head butt from his mother for her trouble.

As I was watching the lambs, the chatter of a returning pair of swallows was over my head, the first I've seen this year.

I was on my way to the coastal hides of Leighton Moss to investigate reports of a spoonbill that had been seen yesterday. The bird was in the far distance, just identifiable through Big Len. The Allen Pool is overflowing with avocets, 60 were reported yesterday, and I counted 50 this morning.

The weather has brightened and warmed as the day has gone on, we have been tidying the garden, potting plants and feeding Reg tomatoes. Wifie made an early dinner, a veggie roast (no lamb is eaten in this household), so no need to cook this evening and we can take Gus for his evening walk shortly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.