In praise of running

For the past 10 years or so I’ve called myself a reluctant runner. Today I finally realised that I need to lose the reluctant bit, and just go ahead and call myself someone who loves running.

Today I paid £20 to park in a field and run around a town. And it was the best thing ever. The running community is truly a wonderful thing. In every race I’ve run, including today, from 5kms to full marathons, from villages to cities, there is always a sense of inclusivity and community. One of my favourite things about these events is that they draw everyone from top club runners to first timers; every size, every shape, every age. There’s no uniform and there’s no judgement. People come out and cheer, hold up banners and give out jelly babies. It’s just great.

Yesterday just happened to be another Cartwright Close Gathering, fuelling another PB this morning (although no pie this time). I’m running 10ks about 10 mins faster than I was 10 years against and that feels pretty good.

This afternoon I went to dinner at Sam and Rachael’s with Ellie and Becci. We played ‘Obama Llama’ which is now my most favourite game ever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.