EEZYbotARM and Erwin's birthday

It's my brother's birthday today, so happy birthday to you Erwin! This morning we went over to celebrate and we stayed until after lunch. Then Nienke and Inge went to my in-laws to see and work with pony Jade, while Ellis, Martine and I went home.

Ellis and I worked on "Eezy", Ellis' nickname for the small robot arm we've been working on together. We finished the assembly and once Ellis was in bed, I finished the wiring as well. All the hardware is ready now and rudimentary control through Python scripts is also possible. As I type this, the lid of the controller case is being 3D-printed and once that is in place, I can turn my attention to completing the software for the controller and writing an extension for the Scratch programming language so children will be able to easily program the robot arm themselves. I think both tasks will take a couple of evenings and I'm hoping to have some time for that next week.

If you're interested: here is a video of an identical robot arm in action. In fact, it's a video made by the designer of the robot arm. My aim is, that children will be able to program the arm to do exactly what is shown in the video.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.