Santa Rosa Creek

When the weather is just too damp for a decent walk, our fallback position is to go to the creek. I've posted a lot of pictures of it but it always looks a bit different. Today something seems to have diverted the water to the right side where it is quite a torrent while the left has become a large pond.

Bright green moss or grey lichen seems to be growing on everything this spring. I took my socks off after our wet walk yesterday and hung them in the closet to dry along with my shoes. They were both still damp this morning. I put them on anyway because I knew they would be wet again before even a short walk was over. 
Ozzie, with his heavy undercoat is just perpetually wet. I tried drying him with a hair dryer but he really didn't like it. Neither do I, which is probably why it took me awhile to find my hair dryer.

Although I was happy enough to settle down with the Sunday papers, the news discouraged me from persevering, so we decided to got to Trail House for a coffee. I sat on the couch watching the exploits of extreme snowboarders on the Red Bull channel which plays constantly on three or four screens.  The two fellows sitting opposite doing the same thing interested me.* 

There was quite a group of men who struck me as sensibly dressed for cycling in the drizzle....no discernible lycra. Those who hadn't headed out yet were clean while others, like these two, were quite muddy, as were their bikes hanging on the wall under the television. The fellow in grey seemed totally knackered, with barely the strength to get his phone out of his pocket and look at it. The other fellow was the one with really muddy shoes, perhaps because he didn't have the energy to change out of what our son Tim calls 'clipetty-clop' cycling shoes. They didn't speak to each other but sat companionably enough staring at the television. I wondered if they were brothers....Neither one of them appeared to be drinking anything...neither coffee nor, it being the magic hour when the choice of beverage tends to change, beer.

Watching cyclists in muddy shoes and sweaty shirts is a lot more interesting than watching yummy mummies with noisy kids, or single silent occupants of a table nursing a cup of coffee and staring at their computers.
And the coffee is pretty good and the breakfast burrito excellent.
*extra

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.