Roger Wehage

By macrome

Anatomy of a Bright Red Floweret

The days are getting longer and our geraniums in the sun room started blooming like crazy. So I decided to try out my new iPhone and Moment lens toys. This floweret is about three inches square so I attached the Moment wide lens to the iPhone. The lens face can be brought to within about 2 cm of the closest point on the flower.

I attached the iPhone to a tripod and used CameraPixels to focus bracket 30 images. Then I used Affinity Photo to focus align and merge the images.

Zooming in on the image, I became interested in the reproductive part of the flower on the left-hand side. So I attached my Moment macro lens and placed the face of it about one cm from closest part of the center of that flower. That focus-bracketed image is shown as an extra photo.

Then I cropped the image in Affinity Photo and used Bicubic Interpolation to increase the pixel density for smoother visualization. A much greater magnification is shown in the March 28 image.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.