I came back...

...this afternoon, shattered. Took this photo of my larch tree, and retired to my potting shed for the afternoon.

I had spent four hours showing a nearly 90 year old man (a friend of mine) who had an old 6 year old iPad and who told me he had tried to move everything over to a new iPad his girlfriend had bought him a year ago and said it hadn't worked.

But I discovered the new iPad was not even an iPad, but an Android tablet.

He had a working gmail email address on his old iPad. He said he simply wanted this transferring to his newer Android tablet. But we hit problems immediately because he had no password for it.

My attempts to go through forgotten password procedure met with failure because he had not updated phone number details, or back up email recovery, and other security stuff he has completely forgotten. So Gmail said we don’t think you are you so we are not going to let you get a new password.

I was tearing my hair out by now...

Then more problems with the Android because the new gmail address he had created there was not now functioning. He said he was not able to use this.

It wouldn't function in the gmail app, and despite going through everything I couldn't figure out what had happened...

However, I managed to get this newer gmail address to work in another collection app. It wouldn't automatically set up, so I installed it manually in the collection app.

There was some other stuff too.

Four hours later he now has a useable Android device, where he can now register stuff within apps like watching BBC sport etc. And I also put the Android's gmail address into the iPad (as back up), AND given him instructions he has to:
A) turn his house upside down to find the first gmail password OR
B) he is going to have to tell people (there seems to be only a few people in his contacts in iPad so that shouldn't be a hard task, but...) that he has new gmail address if he wants to get his current email on the newer Android device which is what he wants.

Despite me explaining, he still doesn’t appear to understand the Android device is not an iPad and believes it's possible to directly transfer the original apps from the iPad to the Android.

He has never backed up his 6 year old iPad ever, and I am now suspecting never updated the software. He definitely hasn't updated the apps...but I couldn't do any more today. The apps he has on the old iPad were all installed 6 years ago... so, I didn't want to touch anything that wasn't immediately essential...

I told him he has to download new google apps that he wants from the Google App Store and start afresh on his Android....

Fair play to him, he does try, and is not afraid to tackle new stuff. So, I think what he has done so far on his own is absolutely brilliant.

However, I have told him if he finds that original gmail password, then tell me and I will install that email address on the mail collection app on his Android device.

And I think all bases will be covered then...
And I did write everything down for him...


Tomorrow is a day entirely for me!

I am not opening any email or snail mail or do any mundane stuff....I am on holiday in my back garden and potting shed tomorrow...

I hope you all had a successful brilliant day, and are having your personal chill out time away from the pressures of this hectic complicated 'modern' world...

Take care x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.