The Next Chapter!

By carol_dunham

Threepenny Bit

Found this amongst some of my Dad’s things at home last week and it reminded me of my very first Mars Bar. Mum often treated herself to one after us kids were in bed and they were kept on the top shelf in the pantry....how my 6 year old self yearned for the taste of one!

One weekend in autumn 1967 Mum and Dad had been invited to a family wedding....I, along with my two youngest sisters, stayed with my Great Aunt down the hill from ours for the weekend. On Saturday morning I was dispatched to the high street on my own for the very first time to run an errand and was given a penny to go to the sweet shop. Dad had already given me a penny for promising to look after my little sisters while they were gone...tuppence to spend on sweets, a veritable King’s ransom!

Skipping merrily down the hill I came across a penny in the gutter and not quite sure what to do with it as there was no one around put it with the other two in my pocket. On reaching the sweet shop...a tiny little place bursting to the gunnels with every confection imaginable, I discovered a Mars Bar cost 3d! I skipped back up the hill very merrily clutching my prize!

After lunch I was allowed to eat it (my sisters had a Milky Way each), what deliciousness...but it was huge and my eyes were oh so much bigger than my belly...there was no way I could eat a whole one!!

I was going to buy one today (purely in the interests of a good blip) but then realised they now cost twelve bob....I left it on the shelf as nowadays my belly is oh so much bigger than my eyes!!!

Thanks to Dfb24 for hosting Tiny Tuesday this month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.