Adda

By Adda

thank you 'R'

about 2 months ago, I bumped into Mr R - who joined at work with me more than 6 years ago. I saw him after a period of 6 years. We had a quick chat, exchanged numbers and then went our way. Yesterday, after moving in to my new room, since I had nothing else to do, picked up my bike and hit the road. Ended up going to a good restaurant in the city and decided to have a good meal there - all by myself. I had just ordered my drink when I saw someone walking to the next table with a pretty company. It was R again - I called out to him, had a quick hi and then he excused himself. I went back to my drink, peanuts and soup, which was followed by a nice sumptuous noodle plate. I happened to look at R but he was too busy :) I decided to pay for myself and then leave. But...where's my wallet? oh my gosh! I forgot to carry my wallet. Now I don't have anything on me - no cash, no credit card, no cheque, nothing. This is very unlike me - I never forget to leave home without my wallet. And the irony of the situation is that I originally stepped out of home for buying a couple of t-shirts but decided to get into this restaurant for no particular reason. Crazzzzyyy!!! Seeing no other way out, I called out to 'R' and he gladly asked the waiter to send my bill to his table. Thank you so much R - you saved me some embarrassment :) We're definitely meeting for a drink at the first opportunity.

A lot of acts in our life are involuntary - they just happen without any conscious effort from our side. Putting my wallet, driving license, keys, cellphone into my pockets are such activities for me. My hands automatically open the drawer and place all these 'essentials' into my pockets without much thought from my side. But since I don't have a drawer in my new room, I am using the one in the living room where I keep my 'essentials' - except my wallet. Guess that's how I missed my wallet yesterday. Need to be more careful from now on.

As an afterthought - was R destined to come there or it just happened because I missed my wallet. The restaurant is big and was quite empty when I reached there. But co-incidentally (or not) he came and took the next table - of all the tables available in the multi-storey restaurant. Truth is indeed, stranger than any fiction.

These are the new candles I got for my room today. Had to get something new to add the 'new' feel to the room. Thanks Kath for the idea.


P.S. - I dont like those flares

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.