horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Buried

Some days are best forgotten. Today was one of those. Big time.

I've blipped the Craigentinny Marbles before - though you get them by night this time, after a late night bike wander following a trip to Asda that I figured I might as well do on two wheels instead of four.

This is a seriously impressive final resting place, for one William Henry Miller, when the lands it was placed on were all grand estate. Now the mausoleum sits incongruously amongst 30s bungalows, next to a bowling green. There's a similar massive monument to Napoleonic French POWs in Penicuik that I must find again some time - tucked away in a modern little housing estate.

Anyway.

I love riding the streets late at night, really must do it more often. Especially nice when the wind had dropped, the cold had abated, and the air was beautifully still.

Oh, and that's basically the shot straight out of the camera. I also love long exposures and the depths it gives you...

Lit Kaff that would have been the shot today if I hadn't then had my more-nocturnal wanderings.

But the day should now be forgotten. Pity it's looking like three more like it before the weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.