Three Turkey Vultures...

...were sitting on a fence enjoying the morning and waiting for the sun to come up so that they could hold out their wings like curtseying ladies to warm them up. They were so involved in their conversation that I was able to get quite close before the one closest to me decided to move. It rose and twisted at the same time and moved just a couple of sections of fence down before landing again.

These birds ugly up close, but in the sky they soar gracefully and effortlessly, circling around almost constantly during the day. They are very social birds and will often sit like this on fence posts or in greater numbers in trees.

For the first time in what seems like months, we woke to sun this morning and I understood how the vultures were feeling. 

New shades were installed in our bedroom and office today. We have lived in this house for over six years and have never felt the need to have window coverings anywhere else, but these two rooms get full sun in the summer and can get quite hot. Plus, the motion sensor light on the garage, which can be triggered by the wind or a spider, shines in the bedroom window. OilMan, of course, says it doesn't bother him, which is his standard response to most of my complaints. 

The squeaking cupboard door got another standard fix...'It doesn't squeak if you pull out on it when you close it...' Easier said than done so I decided to see if I could fix it myself. I stopped it from squeaking, but now it doesn't hang straight. When I tried to straighten it by working on its mate...well, you can figure it out. It was like cutting off the legs of a table.

I would not be a good handyman (or woman). I stomped off in a huff leaving crooked (but quiet) doors.... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.