Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

Faldonside farmhouse - and an odd couple

Not the house I'm staying in but it's nearby and is where the owners of my cottage live. JC came for lunch and we went round the loch.

I went back again later in the afternoon to have a bit more of a look at the birds, including the odd couple (extra photo) who I had noticed earlier. There are in fact three adult swans on the loch, two of them are a mute swan couple and then there's a whooper swan too. I don't know why he/she is on his/her own and still here as he/she should have gone north to Iceland to breed, or at least stay with his/her own. The swan was doing a lot of whooping and I also heard one of the mute swans not being mute, but instead making a loud call which might have been in competition with the whooper. It was difficult to work out the dynamics of the three birds. The male mute swan wasn't doing anything to chase the whooper off and as you can see in the extra photo, they did get quite close to each other.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.