Make Every Day Memorable

By Jorgiesmum

One of the Culprits !

It's been another glorious day. Better here than in northern Spain apparently.
I did think about driving to Cornwall but taking photos, while hanging on to a very strong Boxer, just doesn’t go together.
Instead I spent all day gardening, assisted of course, by aforementioned Boxer !!! 
It wasn't until lunchtime, when I sat down to admire the wisteria climbing over our gazebo, did I realise that something has eaten all of the buds.
In fact the decking was covered in the remains of hundreds of them.
As I sat contemplating what would have been a spectacular show this year, a gang of House Sparrows ( there is probably a collective noun but I don't know it) flew out of the hedge and started gorging on what remains of my beautiful plant.
I then went to check on the other wisterias and, sure enough, they have decimated the beautiful white one too. 
This has happened in the last couple of weeks and, as far as I know, hasn't happened before this year.
PS
I have just googled this and apparently it’s common for sparrows to strip the ripening buds from time to time., reported by the great Christopher Lloyd of all people (Great Dixter ).
You wait all year for a show of flowers or, in the case of wisteria, you may have to wait a few years for them to flower and then ....
A gardener’s lot is not a happy one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.