trekmum

By trekmum

Successful week!

This has been a good week for me as far as genealogy is concerned! I have been using genetic matches ( via Ancestry, FamilyTreeDNA and Gedmatch) alongside good old fashioned genealogy tree building and, after months of research, I identified both birth parents of a friend’s deceased father, who had been adopted at birth in 1930. She now has the names and a bit of a story surrounding her grandparents and a family tree of over 400 people. Success!
Then, today I met Lorraine , a lovely lady who is my half fourth cousin twice removed! She is a descendant of my 3 x great grandmother and her second husband. We were identified as DNA matches on Ancestry and because I have built up an extensive family tree, she was able to identify our shared ancestor. We had a great time chatting about our shared interests and are going to meet up again soon.
Isn’t DNA amazing?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.