Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

White Flowers

Our house - which was built in 1912 onto an existing chimney that was all that was left of a previous house (cabin?) - came with a fairly extensive flower garden at the foot of what was once a pair of huge white oak trees, but now is only one huge white oak tree. The second fell down a few years before we bought the house, I think. Anyhoo - there is a lot of quince in the garden under the oak, but also peonies and millions of daffodils and daylilies.There once were bearded iris, but they seem to have gotten choked out. Plus - some bushes that produce sprays of tiny white flowers just after the quince are in full bloom. Which is to say, now. I have no idea what these bushes are called, but I see them in the yards of all the old houses around here. If anyone knows what they are, I'd love to know!

I faffed around with this photo because it's been raining most of the day and the desperation shots I took were pretty boring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.