Big Sky

I took myself off to The Peak District today for a very familiar walk in Dovedale. I started from Ilam Hall, walked through the village of Ilam to wards Dovedale. But I turn away from the route to Dovedale, and head up the side of Bunster Hill, towards Ilam Top Farm. There were lambs frolicking everywhere....

My next stop was Air Cottage where I was stopped by a tiny yapping dog. To my surprise it was a call for attention. I could hardly get on with my walk, as it needed lots of fuss!

The next section takes you around the hill below the cottage into Ilam Wood before heading down into Dovedale itself. Passing Ilam Rock I aim for Lover's Leap. I spotted a pair of Dippers along the river, and realised they were gathering nest material and disappearing into the riverbank. Hopefully I can return soon to see if they manage to rear a brood.

As I got closer to the famous stepping stones, the crowds were gathering. For most of the route I'd hardly seem another person. My final section was acros the fields below Bunster Hill back towards Ilam Hall. I did treat myself to an ice cream in Ilam.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.