An Artist's Life

By MariB

Judy Collins in Concert

Judy Collins has always had a major place in my folky heart. My group, the Fox Paws (spelled faux pas), covered many of her songs in the '60s....which weren't really her songs, but fabulous covers of my other folk heroes. Anyway, we scored tickets to her performance last night, which was part of our season's passes....it sold out in one day when it was announced. Judy Collins has one of the most recognizable voices in music. I own every recording she ever made....on vinyl and CD. As I listen down the years to last night's performance, I hear a slightly lower register, but the soaring, crystal clarity is still there. We were entranced once again by her stories, her covers and her own brilliant songs. Unbeknownst to me was that she has a bunch of relatives here and in Helena whom she visits often. Her arranger/pianist is from Hamilton where his whole family still resides. So it WAS her I've seen on the streets! We'll raise a glass to Sweet Judy Blue Eyes for her 80th birthday on May 1. (We're both May babies!....cool!!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.