Snake!

Isn't it a beauty? No idea what type of snake it is. Guessing it must be in the garter family but what kind exactly, I have no idea. It was as curious of us as we were of it (I am guessing?) as it raised its head and checked us out for quite some time.

My friend and I headed out early this morning and after 26,000 steps later, we had an amazing walk, saw a wonderful variety of birds, saw one snake, and got sun-kissed!  A quick lunch downtown and then I took her to my two favourite cemeteries.  Surprisingly, she has relatives buried in both so now wants to go back when she finds out the exact location.

By the time we arrived back home, it was late so we went to a lovely Greek restaurant for some yummy food to end a wonderful day.  I should sleep very well tonight!

In extras, I have added a shot of a pair of Cormorants from the colony where they are busy building their nests feverishly.  The male had landed in one nest a tree over and this female screeched and screeched. I was surprised to see him take off over to her nest with his twig offering.  So whether he forgot which was his mate or was flirting elsewhere or has two nests on the go.....interesting!  And boy, oh boy, was it noisy! Last year, there were over 13,000 nests!!

Also, there were many Buffleheads and we enjoyed watching two males trying to get the attention of one female and fighting each other, on and off until she finally chose one.  When she did, she followed him while he did the ritualistic bobbing of his head.  Then.....nothing.  They just swam around together.  Fun action to watch and I managed to get a video to catch the little courtship! 

Oh yes, not one single owl or other raptor but we did see one lone Black Crowned Night Heron fly over. No photo because I happened to be standing in reeds photographing four turtles on a log (oh yes, forgot to mention those!) and did not have a clear shot of it.  Darn.

Now it is way past my bedtime....hope you all had a great day, too!

D x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.