Copper Beech Photography

By Copperhobnob

3-12-2012

Ok, bit of a strange shot this so bear with me. There is a good reason why i am lying in front of a Christmas tree with 3 volumes of Encyclopedia Britannica 1962 on my chest... honest!

I am asthmatic. I was diagnosed at a few months old as i started puffing up dust as i crawled. I ewas severely asthmatic for the first three years of my life and in and out of hospital. But it got better and got less and less serious as i got older.

I'm currently at home recovering from my 5th or 6th attack this year. Why it is so bad this year, i have no idea. I wanted to try and illustrate a little bit of what it feels like.

The attacks you see on tv are so laughably fake. Don't get me wrong, you do get v acute attacks like that but the most of the time you feel like this. Walking round, doing your daily chores, living your life feeling like there was an elephant sitting on your lungs stopping you get your breath in. I actually suspect if feels like the whole of EB sitting on my lungs but i couldn't shift them all in a 10-second dash!

The pressure is thankfully beginning to ease and i reckon i'm on the mend. Each attack requires a dose of oral steroids which are nasty, nasty things (suppress the immune system for one) and usually antibiotics too.

As for the Christmas tree, well, actually there wasn't a good reason for that! LOL

(and copying this over on the 19th of December, i WILL catch up with my blipfoto, i am still ill and have been off work for 3 weeks with 2 more to go. Bah humbug).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.