id:FOR

By FOR

Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra at Sage Gateshead

Maybe it' s just my personal opinion but you can' t miss the visit of Sage Gateshead if you like to listen the classical music. Of course it' s not only about the classical music in here.

It was absolutely delight to hear Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra in Sage One. Lucky me. I took even bargain price for the level 2 tickets (cost 16£ per seat). See extra photos.

Sunday afternoon' s concert as its best. Hard to say but I should put this "one" amongst personal "best 5 classical concerts" ever. Note that I' m not into the classical music only. I should declared that I' m the person who likes to listening the music in whole spectre (from ambient, electronic music through the rock to world music). All right probably only country is not my cup of tea.

Anyway I have seen conductor Vasily Petrenko a year before with Royal Liverpool Philharmonic and it was no brainer to take a journey downside to Newcastle/Gateshead to see him while conducted another world class famous orchestra (Oslo philharmonic from Norway).

Programme:

Delius - Walk to the Paradise Garden
Grieg - Piano Concerto in A minor, Op.16
feat Nikolai Lugansky on piano

Interval

Sibelius - Symphony no. 5 in E flat major, Op.82

Additions
Grieg - Peer Gynt Suite: Morning (Encore)
Brahms, Hungarian Dance no. 5 in F sharp minor (Encore)

No words needed. It was really breathtaking performance in world class' music venue.

I' m glad that Newcastle/Gateshead is not so faraway from Edinburgh because the crystallic sound inside. To be honest I like the classical concerts in Usher Hall. The venue is pretty nice historic building and perfect place for classical music but it' s a little bit old-fashioned venue in terms of stage for performing orchestras and comfortable views from every seat.

Don' t get me wrong for my opinion but must say that:

Sir Norman Foster' s Sage Gateshead is my favourite classical venue in whole UK right now. Great piece of architecture designed for really deep listener' s experience. You should literally book every seat in every corner (it doesn' t matter if stalls, level 1 or level 2). You get the best experience in terms of comfortable seat, pretty nice view and fantastic sound. Really worth to spend every penny on it ;-) Trust me ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.