Cowal Food x 3

This afternoon I visited three fascinating food related companies in Cowal in my constituency.

The first was Otter Ferry Seafish which produces Halibut for the market , via their finishing farm in Gigha , as well as wrasse and lumpfish for the salmon farming industry. This is a well established enterprise , of some size , but I appreciated the chance to catch up with what has been happening recently to Alastair Barge & his team.

Then I went on to Glen Caladh by Loch Riddon to see the newly planted tea farm at Caladh Farm. It was good to hear from Duncan & Islay about their many plans and to see actual tea bushes growing in Argyll . I had last been at Caladh farm twenty years ago and it was amazing to witness such an innovative and unexpected transformation.

Finally I dropped in to meet Eve & Mark at Argyll Coffee Roasters in Tighnabruaich, a very enterprising start up with a huge market and some fantastic products. The roasting process was intriguing and the taste of the various coffees tantalising.

The Argyll halibut has been available for some time , the Argyll coffee can be bought now in local cafes or on line and the Argyll tea is coming on so maybe next year ?

Anyway they are three wonderful achievements that enrich the area & Scotland’s great food and drink offering, Halibut is my main picture but tea and coffee are also there as today’s extra photos.

And thanks to you all for letting me visit !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.