Spoor of the Bookworm

By Bookworm1962

A portal to greatness

On a drab, wet Wednesday, in a drab little Army and Railway town in a recession hit Middle England Shire, there is a doorway. Inside, once you get past the various attempts to part you from any money you may still have, you can sit in the dark and be transported to worlds of adventure and epic myth. Worlds of colour and excitement and magic, of heroes to follow and monstrous evil to defeat. This week the world behind these doors is one that has existed inside my head since I was 7, when my father hung the map of it on the wall of the bedroom I shared with my brother. Not long after that I grew to love the book in all it's glory and 43 years later, having indoctrinated another generation into its pleasures along the way, it's still alive and well in my imagination. Now it exists outside of my head, on a silver screen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.