Here we go again!

By MI

Notre-dame

I was too upset yesterday to post. Today, you will all have seen countless images of the fire so rather than post another as my blip, I thought it better to post this of the people on my street, which is on a steep hill (Montagne Ste-Geneviève) from which you can see Notre-dame. I was glad to be down in the street with people, talking to each other, calling friends, trying to make sense of everything. You can see their concern, sadness and the frustrating inability to do anything other than take pictures and check phones. Our virtual community of friends on social media and our many friends, colleagues and family members who sent emails were a great comfort to us too.

J and I were talking to our daughter in Toronto on the phone after eating dinner. J opened his tablet and saw a story about the fire. We went to the window, still on the phone with our daughter, and could see the flames. The photo in my extras is the last photo I took with the steeple (la flèche) still standing, taken from our window.

J had been planning to pack after dinner for his early morning flight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.