The Way I See Things

By JDO

Gaiters

After yesterday's warm afternoon I'd been hopeful that today would bring the start of the dragon season, but it wasn't to be: much of the day was dark, murky and drizzly, though it did cheer up a little towards the end of the day. This is a female hairy-footed flower bee, foraging to provision her nest; I spotted her on the dead-nettle growing out of a neighbour's garden wall when I was out for a walk this afternoon, and liked the contrast of colours and textures in the shot.

She does have ginger knees - or more accurately hind tibiae - but they're not usually as bright as this, and I think she may have enhanced them with some orange pollen, probably collected from hedgerow blossom. She also looks as though she may be carrying a couple of mites, which is very common with bumblebees, but something I don't remember seeing on plumpies before. If they are mites they're unlikely to do her any harm; they scavenge for debris on the floor of bee nests, and use the bees as free transport to move from place to place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.