Just waiting

I had forgotten just how much waiting around you do when working in an African country. It is part of the DNA. For one who is used to looking at the clock and being tied into appointments on a smartphone, this is not without its frustrations!
That said there is something relational about spending time with people, with no end game in sight, no deal to cut, no decisions to make no deadline to reach. Just being present to one another.
I am going to try to spend less time under the pressure of measuring my activity by the number of meetings I have (I had 18 during 3 days in Cameroon) and more time in just spending time with people ( I had engagement with several dozen people over that period).
I think I know which of the two has more benefit!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.