Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Frosty Morning

We are getting to know some of the other dog walkers and their dogs on our morning walk. There is a scattering of retrievers--golden, labrador, and unknown mixes. There are some small dogs, though none as small as Rudy, who has the personality to make up for his lack of size. It was another clear and frosty morning, invigorating to Ozzie, who tears around through the frosty grass, pausing occasionally to roll around in the glittering meadows. As we walked up the hill past a row of houses, the sun radiated from their front windows, warming our faces nicely.

I received a nice surprise package yesterday--a lovely warm sweater from my friend Kim and her mother, Karen, who own a wonderful women's clothing boutique in Berkeley. I have spent quite a lot of money there, but I have also spent many a pleasant hour just chatting, playing dress-up and winning over their resident dog, a perfectly behaved large Bouvier named Bubbles. It is friendships like these that make leaving Berkeley difficult. I remind myself that it's not that far away and I will be able to visit often.

This afternoon I am going to make some cookies, just like a good grandmother, in anticipation of a visit from Will and Peter and their parents this evening. They are going to help wrestle an incredibly heavy armoire out of the garage and into the house. I believe I have located all the necessary items--cookie sheets, cooling racks (impossible to store anywhere) butter, chocolate chips, flour, sugar and nuts. If all goes well, I might try some Christmas cookies since I ran across the rolling pin as well....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.