Kīlauea Point National Wildlife Refuge

There is a lighthouse on the point of this 230 acre Wildlife Refuge; this location is visited by one million visitors a year. The Refuge is inhabited by Red Footed Boobies.....they nest on the cliffs on the left of the photo and in the trees/bushes on the right side of photo. Each of those tiny white dots is a Booby's nest.  (see extras 4 & 5) They are magnificent in flight (see extras 1 & 2).  I could have stayed here all day......the birds were amazing....I might just have to come back here before we leave this island.

Of course, I had to stop at a beach and do a little snorkeling. The water was a little rough but I loved it.....there were so many more fish than I saw at Anini Beach yesterday.....I will be going back here again!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.