standingTree

By standingTree

sea change

I have been reading through & suggesting edits on a manuscript of a middle school book by a friend of mine, she suggested that I look at the Underwater Sculpture Park in Grenada as the book has to do with refugees & also a little bit with what slavery was.  the park has these incredible sculptures of slaves who died on the passage over from Africa and whose bodies were just thrown overboard.  I don't have the commercial use for the photograph I used for this, but I just wanted to create something to express the mix of emotions I have thinking about all of this.  the sculptures themselves are powerful, eerie & beautiful - especially as sea life colonizes them, the artist used materials that would not harm anything living there.  the original photograph was taken by Mark Atwell, it goes without saying that I won't sell whatever piece I end up finally creating from it.  so, it is not a photograph of mine, but I did start off with a photograph and I thought I would share it, it's not done yet, but getting close to it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.