Sunk

I was on Lismore today holding a surgery.

Marie Claire & I arrived in Oban a wee bit earlier than we expected so we walked down the pier to buy a coffee.

I thought the absence of fishing boats was a bit odd but then we saw the Coastguard out in force.  I knew the officer in charge and he showed us the reason - a small Tarbert fishing boat had sunk at the pier early this morning and was leaking fuel.  Fortunately no one was on it and it was right next to the pier.

One of my extra pictures shows the scene from the Lismore ferry , with the coastguards still there, and a boom in place to contain the fuel.

When we came back this evening the boom was still in place and the boat was still on the sea bed.  Presumably it will be moved over the weekend.

Lismore was , as ever , lovely and the weather was great.   A perfect day to be on such a beautiful, fertile island.

My other extra picture shows the old pier in the middle of the island right next  to where the car ferry now plies to and from Oban.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.