Woodmen of the World

I've thought about an old closed up roadside building in a small town called Shedd, Oregon for six months now.

The W.O.W. letters labeling the structure seem strange to me.

As I passed it in the deepening gloom this evening the building seemed more than a bit spooky.

I did a bit of research what these letters might mean.

Though I'm not certain, I think the letters stand for "Woodmen of the World" which is a fraternal order started in 1890.

I had never heard of the organization.

Update 12-22-12: Sooo... in researching the W.O.W. Hall I learned about the Eugene W.O.W. Hall preservation project. The Eugene W.O.W Hall is now a community owned and operated concert hall. As a Christmas present to ourselves we purchased tickets to the "Cherry Poppin' Daddies" concert on December 28th. A new music venue discovered! How cool is that!!

Full frame image:

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.