Abdulla

When I purchase electricity credit, the name registered to the account is Abdulla. It always creates confusion with the cashier. I like to point out that ‘eu não sou Abdulla’ (I am not Abdulla), which usually raises a smile.

It was a good day. A Portuguese lesson that we had outside, and it heated up by the end and sent me into a sweaty slumber. A meeting that ran late with a lady from a French funding agency who I’d met in Paris in 2016. She is in Mozambique to vet project ideas for Chimanimani, where we are also involved. We had an excellent discussion focusing on mutual frankness and alignment on ideas and issues. The best kind of meeting.

The highlight of the day of course was locating this King Pie cart as I walked out of a meeting. I first ate King Pie in Swaziland in 2004. It hasn’t been far from my mind since, so it was a revelation when I discovered these vendors roaming the streets of Maputo. I tucked into a pie but not before snapping the cart. The seller was bemused.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.