.... Give Them To Your Daughter ....

I made hot cross buns today for the first time since my paternal granny and I made them when I was in my early teens. My granddaughter had been asking when she could have some. Our family is not religious but we uphold the English traditions.

My mother-in-law was a wonderful cook and Good Friday for her was all about perfectly sourced and cooked fish. The first time I joined them for Good Friday lunch she had poached a salmon in a fish kettle and used the cooking liquor to make a beautiful clear soup in which she had gently cooked scallops as a starter.

When we were in business Easter was the start of the garden plant season. We'd either be potting the plants I had raised with the family or open to the public. One of us would go to the local baker for buns. A luxury then to be faffing about in the kitchen for most of the morning. :) Ollie dog and I did a bun drop and combined it with a walk to the top field with Frankie dog. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.