madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Heavens To "Beetsy!"

A lovely couple of hours on the allotment with thehens and tidying up my plot. Wonderful to see the first poppy of the year on my plot! I decided that as my raspberry canes were all shooting out green leaves not to cut them back as i usually do. I'm sure I read somewhere you get earlier fruit as a result? I hope so as they are late summer fruiting and they tend to go mouldy on the canes! Plus last year many were just awful tasting - as in having to spit them out! Never did figure out what caused that!
I got a pleasant shock when clearing out my square open composter. I'd piled flattened cardboard boxes on it and knew that underneath them I had some bits and bobs - I just couldn't remember what they were! As I took the   large plastic tray off the top there was a sudden buzzing and bumble bees flew out! I mean a lot of bumble bees and boy did I run away fast with a few in pursuit! Once they had settled down I tentatively approached the composter and watched them buzz around and disappear down one side. There was one particularly large one - possibly the queen? I thought all bumble bees were solitary but apparenbtly not! They obviously like my plot with all my flowers! I carefully excavated bits and took out quite a lot of the boxes I need to cover various bits of the plot until I get round to digging out the weeds. The bees were still going in and out so hopefully I haven't deterred them from nesting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.