atoll

By atoll

The War Graves Photographic Project

I had pulled off Tabley Road meaning to take a quick snap of the lovely Chapel at Knutsford Cemetary. Only on leaving did I spot the little blue sign listing it as a Commonwealth War Graves Commission site. I am not sure that this might be a new fixture, as I hadn't spotted it before.

Thinking about it, it is obvious that there would be war graves here, but I just hadn't thought it through. After seeing the sign, I walked back in again, and immediately spotted 9 of them scattered about.

I went online when I got home, but was disappointed to see only one generic photo hosted on the CWGC webpage for Knutsford. It actually listed 32 graves and not just the 9 I found. I presumed of the millions of WWI and WWII casualties around the world it was just not practical from a logistical and cost purpose to record everything. In answer to this, I stumbled upon a wonderful voluntary programme and joint venture with the CWGC called The War Graves Photographic Project. This provides international volunteers with a template to work from, in donating their own photographs. There were other related initiatives, notably an Australian War Graves archive.

What a wonderful world-wide programme, particularly with the WWI Centenery fast approaches for 2014. I have offered my services via email, and if I am wanted, will happily make a start on Knutsford.

Postscript: Steve from the The War Graves Photographic Project has since been in touch and so I am off and running. All I need now is a nice sunny day to take the pictures.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.