River of Flowers

By doffy

Easter Monday: Earth Day

The veggie patch/wildlife garden/herbs and experimental plants garden is growing rapidly. I picked salad leaves for lunch last week and everything gets watered with washing up water, when there’s no rain. Lots of salads, veggies and flowers set seed and I collect the seed every year, some for the seed swap and some for my own use. Always experimenting with new plants and thrilled when insects appear or birds feed on seed heads or share the fruit with us. My garden is my every day interpretation of “Earth day”.
Extra photo of garden behind the house.
Whilst drying off homemade compost I’m becoming more aware of the hidden nuisance of tea bag, ours are composted along with everything in the garden compost bins but I’m left with lots of plastic (currently removing them and adding to household waste non-recyclable)
https://www.countryliving.com/uk/create/food-and-drink/news/a3291/plastic-tea-bags-environment/ - I’m searching for a solution ...
Bush tomato plants have all been potted on into larger pots, they are doing well with just a couple of casualties. Chilli plants and a few other veg seedlings also re-potted. Lots of sorting for NSPCC Plant Sale in a fortnight.
Weather was fine and warm all day but it’s clouded over now and feels as if we might have rain ...
Lovely FaceTime with our little granddaughter and her Mam and Dad this afternoon. Today’s Blips are for my daughter-in-law who asked about the garden, enjoy! xxxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.