Grim

Threave Castle built by the splendidly named Archibald the Grim.

After finishing and emailing the work I’d started yesterday I couldn’t decide whether or not to stay local or head out somewhere. Still in the thrall of Dumfries and Galloway (it’s lasted 30 years so probably won’t be changing any time soon) I ended up at Threave Castle which I’ve passed countless times but never stopped to visit. I didn’t cross over but walked round the reserve, full of bluebells, stitchwort and purslane with the occasional fly past of red kite, but no ospreys sighted.

Then I went down to Port Mary and Dundrennan Abbey (extra) which I had been reading about. It was where Mary Queen of Scots set sail for England where she was incarcerated never to set foot on Scottish soil again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.