If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Beacon of Hope.

Our last day in Belfast.  When I booked the flights I wasn't aware that there would be no business on the Monday.  The result was I had a morning free to enjoy Belfast.  A fabulous city with such helpful lovely people.

I had passed this "statue"day.for our final  twice a day during our stay.  It seemed an appropriate blip   The Beacon of Hope stands in Thanksgiving Square beside the Lagan.   She stands 19.5 m (30.5 ft).  The bronze globe (cast in Peebles) shows the cities Belfast has traded with and citizens have emigrated to.  She is holding the "Ring of Thanksgiving".

As you might expect such an art work has gathered a variety of nicknames.   Some of these are  The Huala with the Hula, Belle of the Ball, the Angel of Thanksgiving and the thing with the ring.

The extra shows a somewhat jaundiced view of the political process I feel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.