Nikksnacks

By Nikksnacks

Comfort food

Tonight's dinner was chosen by my partner. I asked him what dish he'd like me to cook and he chose lasagne. He loves his lasagne but it's not something I cook very often as I find it too time consuming.

Anyway, I knew that Jamie, with his predilection for Italian cooking, would have to have a lasagne recipe in his book Jamie's Dinners. And even better when it was labelled 'Simple baked lasagne' - double score!!

I'm not really sure, though, that it was a simple recipe - for one, the meat he uses is a combo of minced pork belly and minced shin of beef - easy if you've got a local butcher handy but not really something you're going to find at the local supermarket. His creme fraiche sauce, which he uses as a substitute for a bechamel sauce, I did, however, find quite refreshing - it gave the lasagne a bit of a sour tang, which I enjoyed. My partner, however, could taste the anchovies in the creme fraiche sauce and wasn't quite so keen.

Overall, definitely one of the tastiest lasagnes I've made, tho' still quite a commitment in terms of ingredients and time spent prepping in the kitchen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.