Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

The Mighty Jamma

Took a trip into the local town this morning, taking advantage of the last day of good weather for a while to walk back home afterwards.

I was thinking of an image incorporating the St George's flag, given it is his day.  I felt conflicted though, whereas for the other countries of Great Britain there is immense pride in their national flag and day, there is just a lingering doubt in my mind that the English symbols have been adopted by groups who don't espouse my beliefs.  It shouldn't really matter, I know, but still it was there for thought.

Anyway, I was taken aback by the Calypso sound coming from this one man steel drum ensemble.  I can only assume the leads coming from the speakers and mixing desk indicated a lot of backing tracks to create the sound he was making.  He had an infectious smile and really brightened the high street as I walked passed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.