Brave Blue World

By OlliEcological

Front Row Seat To Earth

To Bristol tonight for Weyes Blood, a gig I very nearly passed on because the new album left me lukewarm.

Bloody glad I didn't.

An absolute cracker, I think because it met my mood perfectly; melancholic (back to work today after a week off), dreamy and slightly psychedelic. There was also slide guitar and there is no song ever that couldn't be made better with slide guitar. It's the smallest possible hill I'm prepared to die on is that one.

Only downside? It was hot. It was hotter than Hades. The gap between "last song" and encore was a minute because, as Natalie put it, "we're seriously struggling, so you folks must be". Indeed it even made her lead guitarist (on the far left) melt....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.