Kelso - Day 2

The summery weather of the Easter weekend has disappeared here in Kelso leaving behind a cold wind and grey haze. Nothing daunted, I stepped forth at 7am with my host for an hour’s walk round the marches of the town. Only a few dog walkers, some ducks , two swans and a heron were witness to our presence by the Tweed.

After a shower back at the ranch, the hostess and I had a ramble about the town centre with an ascent up to the view point to take this blip of the Gardens below and the view over to the old Abbey.
Coffee was of course mandatory in the local hotel as was the newly baked fruit scone. Interestingly, there are no Costa, Café Nero or Starbucks coffee houses in the town.

On account of the scone no lunch was required but a trip to Floors Castle Gardens and tearoom in the afternoon yielded a lemon meringue tart and a cup of tea.
Floors Castle is more a large country house than a castle and designed by Robert Adam the Scottish architect.
It is the home of the 10th Duke of Roxburgh and is vast. (See the extra image). I wonder what the heating bill is.
I was amazed to see the high wall that surrounds the estate running for miles and miles.

Back now with the forecast rain still absent but feeling more like February than the end of April. I’m so glad I though to bring warm clothes with me rather than the summer gear of Monday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.