Arachne

By Arachne

Sic Transit

Credit where it's due - Deutsche Bahn had emailed me in advance to say there were changes to the timetable and I should look them up, so I knew that my first train, the 06:20 from Berlin, would arrive at Köln 37 minutes later than scheduled and that I'd need to change en route. And another email, about my second train from Köln to Brussels, had told me that to arrive as scheduled in Brussels I'd need to leave Köln 51 minutes earlier than my ticket said. Unimpressive timetabling but very impressive communication. You'd never get that from a train company in the UK.

Anyway, it was a good thing I'd planned lots of time in Köln with Schuh. We drank coffee, we swapped news and we went on our usual walk. It's different every time, of course, and just look at how good she is. I was standing in the same place but I didn't see this.

Mine is of my favourite station, which enabled me to get to Brussels in time for the Eurostar to London, accompanied by a friendly trio of Americans in Europe for five days, who'd popped over to Brussels last night for a gig. As you do. If you're American. 

And now I'm home. What a great trip it's been. I'd half hoped Brexit might happen in my absence and I'd get stranded for ever in mainland Europe. But I'll just have to plan another trip.

Extra of the fair Schuh and I walked through.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.