In Today's Views...

By LovePopcorn

2012 challenge - Domestic

When I think about Domestic help I envision the servants as depicted in historic televised shows on Public Television.
I have mental pictures of the butler, chauffeur, cook, gardener, laundress, maids, nanny, and the stablehand.
Each wearing their role specific uniform. One look and you know their job.
Problems arise for me when asked to define the specific outfit or title given to the one who actually scrubs the floors, the privies, or any other smelly mess.
She is female - I intuitively know that.
What is her job title? Charwoman? Menial? Scrubwoman? Untouchable?
Does her uniform look like Cinderella's outfit of rags?
These are the tools of her trade.
I use these tools.
Maybe my answer is in the mirror.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.