Delightfully damp

Much needed rain arrived yesterday afternoon but we're hopeful of more today.

This gives a bit of an impression of the extent of the fire although it travels much further up to the left and back, under the cloud.  You can see the burnt bracken almost reaching the white house in the distance.  Amazing how the trees managed to escape - perhaps that's down to the firefighters - I'm guessing trees alight would spread sparks far and wide. 

I stayed much further away the other day so hadn't seen where the flames had travelled.  I'm still disturbed by the loss of wildlife but it did sound like there was extra bird song where I was standing as if they were already making the most of their lucky escape even if chicks, insects, little mammals and reptiles didn't get out.

Cloud + rain = chores

Seems like ages ago since that last happened so I'd better make the most of a much needed catch up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.