LaLaLaWord

By LaLaLaWord

The tree in the back green

The back green is swarming with busy life, squirrels and magpies and the robin. Foxes visit from the graveyard a couple of streets away. I sometimes fancy I would like to live somewhere rural but I really wouldn’t, not for more than a few days. I am thoroughly urban. But even I can see it’s not right that the beautiful tree has no leaves yet. It should be dressed in the light green of spring, at least, by now, when everything around it is diving into summer too early. We have had no rain for a while. Every day my weather app tells me it will rain tomorrow. Today it tells me it will rain between 2pm and 9pm today and I feel quite excited about this. Perhaps the tree will have burst into life by teatime.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.