Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

Drinking Chocolate Log

Steve had expressed a desire for a chocolate log cake so I thought I'd make him one, especially since he won't be getting much of a present... even if it arrives in time.

As luck would have it there was a cookery programme on the other evening, Mary Berry and Paul somebody, and a chocolate log cake was included in the recipes. So I set to and baked a chocolate swiss roll shaped cake - made with drinking chocolate as we haven't found any cocoa yet - turned it out onto icing-sugared baking parchment, carefully rolled it up while warm as instructed and left it until the next day.

I reckon I shouldn't have left it for so long before unwrapping it and adding the filling, because by the time I got round to it the sponge cracked all over the place when I unrolled it, so this cake is only held together with the buttercream. I don't suppose it'll matter one bit, but Mary Berry I am not!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.