The Custom House

Today G, A and I spent a lovely day exploring King's Lynn (or Lynn as locals call it). I love history and enjoyed looking at some of their very old buildings, but feel I've only just scratched the surface of its history. 

The main photo is of the Custom House, built in 1683 and which operated as a Port Office for HM Customs from 1693 to 1989. Unfortunately it's closed at the moment for some repairs. 

I've included a mono postcard as an Extra. I particularly wanted to visit St. George's Guildhall which you can see two photos of on the right of the postcard. Building started in 1406 and it's the most complete and largest surviving medieval Guildhall in the country. It's also said to be the oldest working theatre in Europe and one where Shakespeare performed in 1593. Unfortunately it's future is in doubt which is such a shame as it's an amazing building.

We also managed to fit in a visit to the Minster, one of the largest town churches in the country. Both this and the Guildhall have walls which are worrying less than straight!!! I've included a couple of photos of the interior in the postcard, as well as the trinity guildhall. I was most looking forward to going to Lynn museum to view the sea henge exhibition, but the display could have been a lot better.

A really enjoyable day and I'd love to return to do one of the history walks another time. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.