AGBPhotography

By AGBPhotography

Moorhen mum and baby

Well, trips down to the duckponds are starting to look like an episode of Spring Watch. Ventured down to see how the swans and ducklings were doing, was stood watching Mrs Swan turning the eggs when I heard a new squeaking sound and caught a bit of movement out the corner of my eye, by the island in the pond. I noticed one of the moorhens sitting on a rock and a chick in front of her. She then moved around to the other side of the island and I noticed a couple more chicks. As I continued watching them and taking a few photos Mummy Moorhen got up and moved further into the bushes leaving the chicks, I was able to count seven then mummy returned and they snuggled down again. I hadn't spotted these before this morning and judging by their size estimate they are only 3 or 4 days old.
The ducklings are doing well and mum is still keeping them safe, with a bit of help from dad. The one I saw 'hobbling' I think may have been born with a bad leg as it doesn't seem to be affecting it much.
There will be more moorhen and duckling pics on my blog, but not until tomorrow as I'm now off to bed (it's 23.45 here in the UK).
10.15am 28th April - 'Extras' have now been uploaded to my blog and can be viewed at https://agbpblipphoto.blogspot.com/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.